Congratulations to all our winning teams at the 2023 Active Retirement Ireland national indoor mats bowling competition.

Large bowls tournament
Cup winners: Midleton 2 — Breda Treacy, Denis Mulcahy, Denis Heffernan and Liam Hickey (Skip).
Cup runners up: Fossa Swans — Barbara Sweeney, Norman Wilson, John Byrne and Hannah Mai Harris. (Skip).
Plate winners: Kenmare Dolphins — Vera Shaw, Mo Glover, Alan Storey and Bill Glover (Skip)
Plate runners up: Turloughmore1 — Catherine Woods, John O’Donovan, Billy Woods and John Ridge (Skip)

Small bowls tournament
Cup winners: Cnoc Buí A — Bernadette Arthur, Rita Cleary, Mary Matthews and Shay Arthur (Skip).
Cup runners up: Tullow Rollers — John Farrell, Seamie Doyle, Kathleen Flannagan and Liam Lyons (Skip)
Plate winners: Baltinglass — Bernie Doyle, Mary Hayes, Tony Norton and Jack Doran (Skip)
Plate runners up: Bennekerry Green — Martin Byrne, George Nolan, John Dalton and Michael Doyle (Skip)

The winner of the 2023 Pat Cussen prize was Kathleen Flannagan of the Tullow Rollers bowls team. The Pat Cussen prize is awarded to the bowler who best represents the spirit of the game through their sense of fair play and friendly competition. All teams are invited to nominate one person for the prize, with the person receiving the most nominations awarded the prize.

Teams were presented with their prizes at the gala ball and awards presentation by Active Retirement Ireland National President Kevin Monaghan and Mayor of Killarney Cllr Brendan Cronin.
The 2023 Active Retirement Ireland national indoor mats bowling competition was held over three days, 28–30 November at the Gleneagle Hotel in Killarney, Co. Kerry. The event is Active Retirement Ireland’s largest membership event, with this year’s competition seeing 63 teams comprising 252 competitors take part.

Sharing is caring, so share it with your friends!