Congratulations to all our winning teams at the 2022 Active Retirement Ireland national indoor mats bowling competition.

Large bowls tournament

Cup winners: Kilcurry White — Christine Holmes, Philip Kerley, Sean Marmion and Sean Smyth (Skip).

Cup runners up:  Carrigaline — Marie Hanlon, Noel Keating, Kay O’Brien and Adrienne Burnett (Skip).

Plate winners: Mountbellew Ambers — Mary Rooney, Noreen Gayle, Dominic Rooney and Mattie Donnellan (Skip)

Plate runners up: Kenmare Dolphins —Norman Wilson, Maeve Arnold, Patricia Del Valle and Brenda Holdon (Skip)

Small bowls tournament

Cup winners: Tullow Rollers — John Farrell, Joe Stynes, Kathleen Flannagan and Liam Lyons (Skip)

Cup runners up: St Paul’s Red — Tom Hearne, Paddy Doherty, Jimmy O’Sullivan (Skip), and Paddy O’Mahoney.

Plate winners: Cnoc Bui — Bernadette Arthur, Rita Cleary, Mary Matthews and Shay Arthur (Skip).

Plate runners up: Comeragh — Mary Russell, Mary Curran, Mike Dempsey and Maureen Widger (Skip)

The teams were presented with their prizes at the gala ball and awards presentation by Active Retirement Ireland National President Anne Drury, with Kerry County Council Cathaoirleach Cllr John Francis Flynn and Killarney Municipal District Leas Cathaoirleach Cllr John O’Donoghue on-hand to congratulate the competitors.  

The 2022 Active Retirement Ireland national indoor mats bowling competition was held over three days, 29 November to 1 December, at the Gleneagle Hotel in Killarney, Co. Kerry. The event is Active Retirement Ireland’s largest membership event, with this year’s competition seeing 57 teams take part and a total of 450 competitors, event volunteers and spectators in attendance.  

Sharing is caring, so share it with your friends!